Brief Update

Friends, thank you for your prayers, thoughts, and well-wishes.  It has been a difficult two days.

Just so you all know what happened to me:

I was arrested by the Phoenix Police Department at 11:29am on Thursday, July 29th.  I, along with over thirty others, were detained by the county sheriff’s department, headed by Sheriff Joe Arpaio, for nearly 24 hours before being allowed to see a judge. This included spending the night in jail.  On account of being part of a religious movement, as well as a member of the clergy, I was released on my own recognizance, with no bail necessary.  However, the case has yet to be closed, and I must be careful of what details I reveal here before the case goes to court in late August.

Our belongings were returned to us, and we saw the sun again at 1:30pm on Friday, July 30th.  For a Class 3 Misdemeanor—the most minor offense a person can be charged with that isn’t petty—we were detained and imprisoned for 26 hours in inhumane and brutal conditions.

I will write more when I have gotten my first sleep since before the 4:30am vigil two mornings ago.

Much love to all of you.

-lm

About Leaping Loon

While I am determined to embrace my propensity to wander, it oftentimes takes a leap of faith to do so. My life's motto seems to be: "Leap, and the net will appear." True to my spirit, and following Love's call, I must simply free myself to go. Where will I end up? Let's find out. Welcome to my journey!
This entry was posted in 2010 Phoenix (Day of Non-Compliance) and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Brief Update

  1. Justin Buchs-Hammonds says:

    I’m happy to hear that you are safe Leslie. Thank you for doing what you can to help fight this injustice. Be well, many thoughts are with you these days.

    Peace and Love,

    Justin

  2. Robert Tollefson says:

    Goodness. You seem to be living out the theology we’ve been exposed to. May this experience help you in your faith journey; know that many of us, too, are anxious about this “law” and pray that a better way might be found. Bob

  3. Pingback: One Reaction to Chiapas « UTS Global Trips

  4. Pingback: Future Travels and Trial Update | Leaping Loon

  5. Pingback: Let the Trials Begin! | Leaping Loon

  6. Pingback: Ready, Set…Pack! | Leaping Loon

  7. Andrew Berhow says:

    Here’s hoping they put you away, not that you deserve it, but it would make a really memorable first date.

Leave a comment