Let the Trials Begin!

Exciting news, dear reader!  Yesterday morning, December 9th, at 10:00am, two of our Love People had the courage to be the first of us to stand trial down in Phoenix, Arizona following our arrest back in July for protesting SB1070 when the anti-immigration legislation went into effect.

The verdict: NOT GUILTY!

The next trial is on December 16th.  The majority of the defendants (myself included) will be tried in two groups in January.  My trial will be the final group. The future trials will not necessarily have the same judge that our companions had yesterday, so there is no guarantee of a similar verdict for us.

But there is hope!  Remember friends: we can change the world with our love!

-lm

About Leaping Loon

I am an ordained Unitarian Universalist minister serving our congregation in Elgin, Illinois. While I am determined to embrace my propensity to wander, it oftentimes takes a leap of faith to do so. My life's motto seems to be: "Leap, and the net will appear." True to my spirit, and following Love's call, I must simply free myself to go. Where will I end up? Let's find out. Welcome to my journey!
This entry was posted in 2010 Phoenix (Day of Non-Compliance), Trips and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let the Trials Begin!

  1. Robin Edgar says:

    NOT GUILTY! to what charges Leaping Loon?

    • Leaping Loon says:

      A reasonable question, Mr. Avenger! Our group that was arrested at the Wells Fargo action (rather than the 4th Avenue Jail action) was charged with a Class 3 misdemeanor count of “obstruction of a highway or public thoroughfare.” We are well aware that there are other things we could have been charged with, but that is the charge to which we were asked to submit a plea and from which our lawyers are defending us.

      The prosecution is using the argument that we had no right to be there; they claim that we caused an unreasonable blockage, and that without people in the streets traffic could have gotten through.

      Our lawyers have submitted a defense to that charge, which the judge found reasonable; the trial was over in one day. As a result, two American citizens who, at great personal risk, stood up peacefully and non-aggressively for what they believe in, were declared “not guilty” and allowed to return to their lives and loved ones. I see this as exciting news worth celebrating.

      And now, Mr. Avenger, because we have shared some dialogue in my comments section before (specifically in my “Homeward Bound” post) and I sense some arguments coming from your end of things, I hope you will understand if I post this reminder as an encouragement for you to be thoughtful in the way you choose to respond:

      I do believe that all voices deserve a chance to be heard, and I will not suppress your comments based on content. I will, however, delete any comments whose tone is angry, inflammatory, or offensive. This is not the place for you to vent your personal frustrations. I think I have made it clear in my posts that I am standing on the side of love. If you want your comments to be posted, I ask that you do the same.

      And in closing: please keep in mind that I am a seminary student. This means I am in the midst of finals leading up to the end of the term. I hope you will forgive me if I am unable to respond as immediately to your future posts as you might wish, as I will be working on projects other than this blog. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

