Spoke Too Soon….

I went drumming again last night (tonight?).  It was an intimate circle of about 20 folks this time—smaller than I’m used to, but enough to get a good groove going.

Tonight we called the Shaper (the one-who-shapes-and-reshapes-all-things) to come and work among us.  I invited the Shaper to work within me to change that which needed changing.  I was given an image: I am fire within.  Therefore air excites me, earth stifles me, and water soothes me.  I need to shape my inner fire to flow as water does, or it will burn wildly in every direction and consume me.  If I channel my fire the way earth channels a stream, my fire will be constructive and serve a purpose.  Then a voice nudged and reminded me: The Shaper has always been within you and works through you.  This is why you are able to be a “mover and shaper,” rather than, as most are, a “mover and shaker.”

And finally, my dear readers may notice that it’s 5:00am on November 6th as I post this entry.  This means there was no November 5th posting.  I find it ironic, though not unsurprising, that I missed a day of blogging immediately following my announcement that I intended to blog every day this month.  I do, however, take comfort in the fact that, in terms of wakeful vs. sleeping periods, for me it is still yesterday, as I have yet to go to sleep.  My plan is to immediately change that.

-lm

About Leaping Loon

I am an ordained Unitarian Universalist minister serving our congregation in Elgin, Illinois. While I am determined to embrace my propensity to wander, it oftentimes takes a leap of faith to do so. My life's motto seems to be: "Leap, and the net will appear." True to my spirit, and following Love's call, I must simply free myself to go. Where will I end up? Let's find out. Welcome to my journey!
This entry was posted in Drumming/Shamanism. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

