And Now We Wait

Hello, friends, I just wanted to give you a brief update with what little information I have regarding the court cases from the arrests back in July.

The Wells Fargo Action group (those of us arrested in front of the Wells Fargo building in downtown Phoenix, where Sheriff Joe Arpaio’s office occupied two floors) has made it through the “pre-trial” phase.  To the best of my knowledge, we have used up all our “continuances” (requests to put off a decision or delay our return to Phoenix).  Therefore, on the next date decided by the court, those of us who pled “not guilty” absolutely must be there.

The only question, at this point, is when that date will be.

At the moment, our cases have not been consolidated into one trial, so we each have individual trial dates spanning from the end of October through mid-November.  The wonderful team of lawyers are working to get the cases consolidated as soon as possible, but there is no final news on this front yet.

From what I hear, it looks like there are over 20 of us returning to Phoenix in the near future to stand trial in defense of our actions.

Once again, if you feel moved to make a donation to help defray the cost of travel for these “Love People” or to help pay a stipend to these selfless lawyers who have, up until this point, been working completely pro bono, please visit Standing on the Side of Love and give what you are able.

When I have more definitive news, I’ll let you know.  Thank you for following along!

-lm

About Leaping Loon

I am an ordained Unitarian Universalist minister serving our congregation in Elgin, Illinois. While I am determined to embrace my propensity to wander, it oftentimes takes a leap of faith to do so. My life's motto seems to be: "Leap, and the net will appear." True to my spirit, and following Love's call, I must simply free myself to go. Where will I end up? Let's find out. Welcome to my journey!
This entry was posted in 2010 Phoenix (Day of Non-Compliance) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

